Making Peace Vigil

Standing up for peace

I’D LOVE REGINA MORE IF….

Posted by strattof on July 20, 2014

This year I Love Regina Day was celebrated on July 19. First observed in 2002, I Love Regina Day is an occasion for celebrating our city and its achievements.

It is also a good time to think about the changes we need to bring about in our city to make life better for all Regina citizens.

I’D LOVE REGINA MORE IF 

A CITY-WIDE BAN WERE IMPOSED ON THE COSMETIC USE OF PESTICIDES.

Over 170 Canadian municipalities have banned the cosmetic use of pesticides. But not Regina. Here it is still legal to use dangerous pesticides in parks and on lawns and gardens.

According to the Canadian Cancer Society, “Research linking pesticides to serious health issues is significant and growing.” 

I’D LOVE REGINA MORE IF

REGINA TRANSIT WAS PROVIDED WITH ADEQUATE FUNDING. 

The past four years have seen a dramatic increase in transit ridership. Yet there has been no significant increase in Transit’s operating budget.

Our growing city is experiencing traffic congestion and parking problems. Transit is the answer. Transit is also part of the answer to a major global problem: climate change. One bus load of passengers takes the equivalent of 40 vehicles off the road, reducing emissions by more than 15,000 tonnes a year.

I’D LOVE REGINA MORE IF

OUR CITY HAD MORE BIKE LANES.

Currently we have two measly downtown bike lanes: on Smith and Lorne between College and Victoria.

Bike lanes help keep cyclist safe. Cycling helps the environment. It is also good for human health.

I’D LOVE REGINA MORE IF

EVERY REGINA RESIDENT HAD A SAFE, SECURE, HABITABLE, AND AFFORDABLE HOME.

Regina is experiencing a homelessness crisis. The city’s shelters are filled to capacity.

City Council’s response is to offer a capital incentive of $15,000 per unit to developers to build more rental units ‒ units that are to be rented “at or below average market rent.” As everyone knows, “average market rent” is not very affordable.

In other words, the city is shifting millions of dollars of taxpayers’ money into the pockets of developers who will not be building any truly affordable rental units. In the meantime, 1000s of Regina residents are suffering because of the lack of affordable rental housing.

I’D LOVE REGINA MORE IF

TRANSCANADA PIPELINES WERE NOT ABOUT TO SHIP TAR SANDS OIL THROUGH OUR CITY.

TransCanada’s Energy East is the largest tar sands pipeline proposed yet. Over 4,000 km long.it would run from Alberta to New Brunswick, carrying 1.1 million barrels of tar sands oil per day to the Atlantic Ocean, mainly for export.

Energy East cuts right through Regina, in the Harbour Landing area. It would put our city at risk of a tar sands oil spill. TransCanada does not have a good safety record. It would expand Canadian tar sands production, thus driving dangerous climate change.

The citizens of Regina should have a say in the Energy East pipeline project. Do we want tar sands oil piped through our city?

I’D LOVE REGINA MORE

Join the I’d Love Regina More campaign. Let Mayor Michael Fougere and your City Councillor know what they could do to make you love Regina more.

Mayor Michael Fougere: 777-7339 or mayor@regina.ca

Ward 1:  Barbara Young: 539-4081 or byoung@regina.ca

Ward 2:  Bob Hawkins: 789-2888 or bhawkins@regina.ca

Ward 3:  Shawn Fraser: 551-5030 or sfraser@regina.ca

Ward 4:  Bryon Burnett: 737-3347 or bburnett@regina.ca

Ward 5:  John Findura: 536-4250 or jfindura@regina.ca

Ward 6:  Wade Murray: 596-1035 or wmurray@regina.ca

Ward 7:  Sharron Bryce: 949-5025 or sbryce@regina.ca

Ward 8:  Mike O’Donnell: 545-7300 or modonnell@regina.ca

Ward 9:  Terry Hincks: 949-9690 or thincks@regina.ca

Ward 10:Jerry Flegel: 537-9888 or jflegel@regina.ca

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: